Wireless Firmware missing in Linux


It’s been a year since I started using Linux. The first problem that I faced was my Wireless Firmware was missing. I never bothered to do anything about it until now. My brother installed a router at my place and to access the Internet, I had to install the missing firmware. I had tried doing this couple of times before, but couldn’t find a solution.

I found this really helpful post on Linux Mint Forums. http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=89410

Installing b43 Linux Wireless Driver:

I read somewhere that to install b43 in Ubuntu, all you need to do is
$ sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer
And it will take care of the rest. But that didn’t work for me.
I found this on the above mentioned forum page.

Download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/b43_firmware/b43.zip
Extract it.
Move the folder to /lib/firmware
$ mv b43 /lib/firmware
After moving the folder, do
$ sudo modprobe -v b43

This worked like a charm. Posting this using WiFi.
Read more about b43 Linux Wireless Driver http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43

P.S. I’m back home. Feels great.

7 thoughts on “Wireless Firmware missing in Linux

  1. Pingback: Quora

  2. Pingback: Linux missing | Profcharles

  3. Hi there…
    Downloaded the file but cannot move it. Have tried but get message:
    b43 no such file or directory.
    I have left the b43 file in the downloads folder
    Any help is welcome

    Regards

    • hey,
      If you are unable to move it, you can do it manually. I think the problem here is, you are not in root. You need to be superuser.

      sudo mv b43 /lib/firmware

      this should work. If this doesn’t work, open up your file manager as superuser, and manually move it.

      Cheers,
      Jay

Leave a Reply

